The first time I came into contact with a compost heap, I was in kindergarten. And it wasn’t just in a figurative sense. Dressed in rubber boots, a red and white dotted raincoat and brimming with curiosity, I listened as the kindergarten teacher who, stood in front of the heap, told me enthusiastically about its value. I wasn’t really interested in the functionality or the exact degradation process of banana peels or cabbage leaves, I was completed fixated on the bugs and earthworms. Today, 25 years later, I look at my compost heap from a different (and much taller) perspective. This “gardeners green gold” saves me money, is good for the environment, increases the fertility of the soil and even lets me dispose of my clothes with a clear conscience.

ALLURE AND WEARABILTY –
THIS SHIRT IS PURE NATURE

Category: Fashion     Text: Sandra Gawlowski
The first time I came into contact with a compost heap, I was in kindergarten. And it wasn’t just in a figurative sense. Dressed in rubber boots, a red and white dotted raincoat and brimming with curiosity, I listened as the kindergarten teacher who, stood in front of the heap, told me enthusiastically about its value. I wasn’t really interested in the functionality or the exact degradation process of banana peels or cabbage leaves, I was completed fixated on the bugs and earthworms. Today, 25 years later, I look at my compost heap from a different (and much taller) perspective. This “gardeners green gold” saves me money, is good for the environment, increases the fertility of the soil and even lets me dispose of my clothes with a clear conscience.
This is because the compost of the future will not only contain carrots, apples and parsley, but also clothing that has run it’s course. And that’s thanks to CALIDA. With its I LOVE NATURE shirt made of TENCEL® MICRO, the Swiss underwear company has created the first ever completely biodegradable garment, made entirely of cellulose. It’s fairly produced in a particularly environmentally friendly process of sustainable forestry, Made in Green by OekoTex and Cradle to Cradle certified. But what does this ‘cradle to cradle’ principle actually mean?

Photo: Calida
NATURE’S CYCLE
Mother Nature is the role model for the Cradle to Cradle concept, which pursues complete The seal of approval consequently guarantees that the textile has been designed in a way that it can be used again and again in the natural cycle.
So, once the I LOVE NATURE shirt has run its course and been proudly worn for numerous years, it can be added to the compost heap in the garden with a clear (green) conscience. There it will disintegrate completely back into its natural resources and within just a few months it will be reintegrated into the nutrient cycle.
And as if that wouldn’t already be astounding enough, and very worthy of a golden (green) star, the breathable material the shirts are made of, ensures optimum temperature and moisture balance and the super soft TENCEL® MICRO fabric makes them extremely comfortable to wear.

For us, sustainability isn’t a trend and it’s nothing new,
instead it’s been part of our identity since the very beginning.
This includes high quality and longevity, a spirit of innovation as
well as fair, environmentally friendly and ethical production.

CALIDA

With its cellulose garments, CALIDA really demonstrates its love for nature ( of course, nomen est omen) and has created a real gem for our skin and our wardrobe. “And who invented it?” you may ask – Once again, the Swiss have done it 😉
FOR FREE: THE OFFICIAL FESTIVAL SHIRT
A special highlight is the official t-shirt created in cooperation with GREEN WINDOW for the GREENTECH FESTIVAL, with the slogan “CELEBRATE CHANGE” printed on the front. The I LOVE NATURE shirt worth €50, was printed according to the Cradle to Cradle Certified™ production standard and is a limited edition.
You’d like a shirt? Then come visit our team at our booth in Hangar 6 and take a picture with it. We’ll be giving away a limited number, so stop by to check out our SQUARECOLLAB with CALIDA. On Friday, May 24th the admission is free. From 11am to 4pm you can find us at the exhibition in Hangar 6. Saturday from 9am to 6pm. For more information visit: greentechfestival.com

Photo: Calida

Recommended articles

READ MORE →

Recommended articles
READ MORE →
By |2019-06-11T11:04:23+00:00May 22nd, 2019|FASHION, Sandra Gawlowski|Comments Off on ALLURE AND WEARABILTY – THIS SHIRT IS PURE NATURE

Ich war damals im Kindergarten, als ich das erste Mal mit einem Komposthaufen in Berührung kam – und das nicht nur im übertragenden Sinne. Ausgerüstet mit Gummistiefeln, rot-weiß gepunktetem Regenmantel und ganz viel Neugierde lauschte ich den Worten der Kindergärtnerin, die vor dem besagten Haufen stand und ganz begeistert von seinem Mehrwert erzählte. So richtig interessierte mich damals weder die Funktionalität noch der genaue Abbauprozess von Bananenschale, Kohlrabiblatt & Co., denn ich hatte nur Augen für all die Vierfüßler und Regenwürmer. Heute, ganze 25 Jahre später, betrachte ich meinen Komposthaufen aus einer (natürlich viel höheren) und anderen Perspektive: Mein „grünes Gold der Gärtner“ erspart mir Geld, tut der Umwelt etwas Gutes, steigert die Fruchtbarkeit des Bodens und wird mir künftig auch dabei helfen, meine Klamotten ohne schlechtes Gewissen zu entsorgen.

ANZIEHEND –
DIESES SHIRT IST NATUR PUR

Category: Fashion     Text: Sandra Gawlowski
Ich war damals im Kindergarten, als ich das erste Mal mit einem Komposthaufen in Berührung kam – und das nicht nur im übertragenden Sinne. Ausgerüstet mit Gummistiefeln, rot-weiß gepunktetem Regenmantel und ganz viel Neugierde lauschte ich den Worten der Kindergärtnerin, die vor dem besagten Haufen stand und ganz begeistert von seinem Mehrwert erzählte. So richtig interessierte mich damals weder die Funktionalität noch der genaue Abbauprozess von Bananenschale, Kohlrabiblatt & Co., denn ich hatte nur Augen für all die Vierfüßler und Regenwürmer. Heute, ganze 25 Jahre später, betrachte ich meinen Komposthaufen aus einer (natürlich viel höheren) und anderen Perspektive: Mein „grünes Gold der Gärtner“ erspart mir Geld, tut der Umwelt etwas Gutes, steigert die Fruchtbarkeit des Bodens und wird mir künftig auch dabei helfen, meine Klamotten ohne schlechtes Gewissen zu entsorgen.

Denn auf dem Kompost der Zukunft liegt neben Karotte, Apfel und Petersilie auch Kleidung, die ihren Zweck erfüllt hat – CALIDA sei Dank. Das Schweizer Wäscheunternehmen hat mit seinem I LOVE NATURE-Shirt aus TENCEL® MICRO das erste komplett kompostierbare Kleidungsstück geschaffen – aus 100% Zellulose. Es ist fair und in einem besonders ressourcenschonenden Kreislauf aus nachhaltiger Forstwirtschaft hergestellt, Made in Green by OekoTex und Cradle-to-Cradle zertifiziert. Aber was bedeutet eigentlich dieses „Wiege zu Wiege“-Prinzip?

Foto: Calida
KREISLAUF DER NATUR
Mutter Natur ist Vorbild für das Cradle to Cradle-Konzept, das geschlossene Kreisläufe verfolgt, bei denen keine Ressourcen verschwendet werden, kein Abfall entsteht und deren Materialien ökologisch erzeugt wurden. Das Gütesiegel verspricht demnach, dass das Textil so konzipiert wurde, dass es im biologischen Kreislauf immer wieder verwendet werden kann. 
Hat das I LOVE NATURE- Shirt also nach unzähligen Jahren, in denen es voller Stolz durch die Welt getragen wurde, seinen Dienst getan, kann es grünen Gewissens raus in den Garten auf den Kompost gelegt werden. Dort zerfällt es komplett in seine natürlichen Ressourcen und fügt sich innerhalb von wenigen Monaten wieder in den Nährstoffkreislauf ein.
Und als würde das Shirt nicht genug Gutes tun und eh schon „eine weiße Weste haben“, sorgt das atmungsaktive Material für einen optimalen Temperatur- und Feuchtigkeitsausgleich und die supersofte TENCEL® MICRO-Qualität für einen sehr hohen Tragekomfort.

Für uns ist Nachhaltigkeit kein Trend und auch nichts Neues,
sondern seit Anbeginn Teil unseres Selbstverständnisses.
Dazu gehören hohe Qualität und Langlebigkeit,
Innovationsgeist und eine faire, umweltfreundliche und soziale Produktion.

CALIDA

Alles in allem beweist CALIDA mit seinen Kleidungsstücken aus Zellulose seine große Liebe zur Natur (klar, nomen est omen) und schafft einen echten Jackpot für unsere Haut und unseren Kleiderschrank. Da liegt einem doch glatt auf der Zunge: Und wer hat’s erfunden? Die Schweizer mal wieder. 😉
FOR FREE: DAS OFFIZIELLE FESTIVAL SHIRT
Besonderes Highlight: In Kooperation mit GREEN WINDOW ist das offizielle Shirt für das GREENTECH FESTIVAL mit dem Statement «CELEBRATE CHANGE.» entstanden. Das I LOVE NATURE-Shirt im Wert von 50 €, das nach Cradle to Cradle Certified™ Produktionsstandard bedruckt wurde, ist streng limitiert.
Ihr möchtet ein Shirt haben? Dann besucht unser Team auf unserem Stand in Hangar 6 und macht ein Foto damit. Wir werden eine begrenzte Anzahl verschenken – also kommt vorbei für unsere SQUARECOLLAB mit CALIDA. Am Freitag den 24.5. ist der Eintritt frei. Von 11 bis 16 Uhr findet ihr uns in der Exhibition in Hangar 6. Samstag von 9-18 Uhr. Mehr Infos unter: greentechfestival.com

Foto: Calida

Das könnte dir auch gefallen

Schwalbe unter Strom

By |MOBILITY|

Die Schwalbe ist zurück. Das Design: Retro und original. Jugenderinnerungen werden wach, zumindest bei dem ein oder anderen Ost-sozialisierten Menschen. Seit diesem Sommer ...

READ MORE →

Das könnte dir auch gefallen
READ MORE →
By |2019-06-11T11:56:08+00:00Mai 22nd, 2019|FASHION, Sandra Gawlowski|Kommentare deaktiviert für ANZIEHEND – DIESES SHIRT IST NATUR PUR